Quote of the Week

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J....

Portrait of Jane Austen, from the memoir by J. E. Austen-Leigh. All other portraits of Austen are generally based on this, which is itself based on a sketch by Cassandra Austen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“She had been forced into prudence in her youth, she learned romance as she grew older- the natural sequence of an unnatural beginning.”

-Jane Austen, Persuasion

 

This quote so perfectly describes me that I had to choose it. I didn’t learn romance the way she means; I’m married to the man I was dating when I was 20. I did follow the prudent path, in choosing be a doctor, when I was younger and only came around to dreaming as I grew older. (Granted, if I didn’t have a husband to help me with such luxuries as food and shelter, I’d still be following the prudent path- I haven’t changed THAT much!) It’s a popular notion that we’re irresponsible dreamers when we’re young and learn responsibility and prudence through experience. Some of us, though, are perhaps TOO responsible in youth and need experience and age to learn to take a chance and follow the riskier path. We all know the risks of too little caution. I think we can forget the risks of too much of it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Archives

